North West Footballer of the Year – Vote Pepe

Something to take our minds off the events off the field for a moment is this press release received today inviting votes for the North West Footballer of the Year.

A number of candidates have been nominated and of course the correct choice is “Pepe Reina” – but the other candidates are listed below along with details of how to register your vote.

Vote Pepe!


Liverpool fans are being urged to vote for Pepe Reina, after it was announced that he has been shortlisted for a prestigious North West player of the year award.

Reina will battle it out against rivals such as Wayne Rooney and Leighton Baines for the title, voted for by supporters, at this year’s MBNA North West Football Awards.

Reds fans can vote for Reina, who had a magnificent season for Liverpool along with players from other divisions at, which has full details of the shortlist.

The winners will be revealed at the awards ceremony, which takes place in October. A panel of expert judges, including PFA chief executive Gordon Taylor, will decide the winners in the other categories, acknowledging the off the pitch achievements of the North West’s clubs and celebrating the contribution that the region’s businesses make to the global football industry.

Gordon Taylor said: “It’s been a stellar year for North West football, with many of the season’s headlines made in the region and this year’s shortlist certainly reflects that.

“Even when the football clubs have seen mixed fortunes, the players on the list have proven their dedication, their hard work and their talent.

“It’ll be a big task for the judging panel to decide the winners of all the other awards as we understand that the calibre of entries is really high, so for the football-supporting public to take some of the pressure off us and choose the best players is fantastic.”

More than 450 VIP guests from the football and business world are expected to attend the awards, which was launched in 2007 and has become one of the highlights of the sporting season.

Chester-based MBNA, a subsidiary of the Bank of America, is the title sponsor of the event which takes place on 11 October 2010 at Lancashire County Cricket Club. To vote for your player of the year, please visit

The shortlisted players are:

Premier League

  • Bolton Wanderers – Chung-Yong Lee
  • Burnley – Graham Alexander
  • Everton – Leighton Baines
  • Liverpool – Pepe Reina
  • Manchester City – Carlos Tevez
  • Manchester United – Wayne Rooney
  • Wigan Athletic – Charles N’Zogbia


  • Blackpool – Charlie Adam
  • Preston North End – Andrew Lonergan

League One

  • Carlisle United – Ian Harte
  • Oldham Athletic – Sean Gregan
  • Stockport County – Johnny Mullins
  • Tranmere Rovers – Ian Goodison

League Two

  • Accrington Stanley – Andrew Procter
  • Bury – Ryan Lowe
  • Crewe Alexandra – Ashley Westwood
  • Macclesfield – Carl Tremarco
  • Morecambe – Barry Roche
  • Rochdale – Craig Dawson

Blue Square Premier

  • Altrincham – Stuart Coburn
  • Barrow AFC – Robin Hulbert

2 thoughts on “North West Footballer of the Year – Vote Pepe”

Comments are closed.