Robbie’s back at nine – squad numbers announced

Liverpool FC have announced new squad numbers for the new season and as predicted by many, Robbie Fowler has got his old Number 9 shirt back.

Fowler was given 11 on his return in January, but with the club embarking on a brand-new shirt deal with Adidas it was an ideal opportunity for a reshuffle of numbers. The previous owner of the shirt, Djibril Cisse, has now gone to Marseille, and Fowler will be delighted to get it back again.

The number 11 shirt goes to left winger Mark Gonzalez. Other new signings needed shirt numbers too of course and Fabio Aurelio gets number 12, Craig Bellamy number 17 and Gabriel Paletta number 29. 

Liverpool are still looking to bring in more players as has been confirmed by Rick Parry recently, so expect more numbers to be allocated, also from some youth and reserve players who are given a chance at a later date. The only players in the ranges 1 to 11 considered likely to leave are Jerzy Dudek who’ll be hoping to find some first-team football somewhere, and Jan Kromkamp who’s been known to be available for some time.

As things stand, the following is the full first-team squad for the new season.

1. Jerzy Dudek
2. Jan Kromkamp
3. Stephen Finnan
4. Sami Hyypia
5. Daniel Agger
6. John Arne Riise
7. Harry Kewell
8. Steven Gerrard
9. Robbie Fowler
10. Luis Garcia
11. Mark Gonzalez
12. Fabio Aurelio
14. Xabi Alonso
15. Peter Crouch
17. Craig Bellamy
20. Scott Carson
21. Djimi Traore
22. Momo Sissoko
23. Jamie Carragher
24. Florent Sinama-Pongolle
25. Jose Reina
28. Stephen Warnock
29. Gabriel Paletta
32. Bolo Zenden
33. Neil Mellor
34. Darren Potter
35. Danny Guthrie
38. David Mannix